Honours, Awards, and Grants


  • Invited Speaker and Lecturer, Jerusalem School of Business Administration, Hebrew University of Jerusalem.


  • Confederation of Alberta Faculty Associations (CAFA) Distinguished Academic Early Career Award
  • Construction Owners Association of Alberta and Mitacs, Creating a Positive Safety Culture and Continuous Improvement in Alberta’s Construction Industry, research grant, $15,000. PI: Lianne Lefsrud.
  • Creative sentencing research grant, Protecting Worker Safety in Alberta by Enhancing Field Level Hazard Assessments and Training for Ground Hazards Associated with Tailings Facilities, Dams, and Systems, $285,000. PI: Lianne Lefsrud, co-PIs: Renato Macciotta and Michael Hendry
  • Future Energy Systems Research Co-investigator in Geothermal ($277,000), Resilient Reclaimed Land and Water Systems (TBD), and Community and Aboriginal Affairs (TBD) themes.
  • Undergraduate Research Initiative stipend: Workplace Culture: Diversity in Engineering. $5000.


  • Seeding Food Innovation 2016 program, Social dimensions of climate change mitigation in Alberta agriculture, $140,801. PIs: Debra Davidson, Andreas Hamann & Lianne Lefsrud.
  • Genome Canada, Large-Scale Applied Research Project Competition, Natural Resources and the Environment: Sector Challenges, Managing Microbial Corrosion in Canadian Offshore & Onshore Oil Production Operations, $7,850,739. PIs: Lisa Gieg, Faisal Khan, John Wolodko. Collaborator: Lianne Lefsrud ($67,400).
  • Data Grant, Alberta Workers Compensation Board, Assessing Partners’ OHS Tools for Improving Alberta Workplace Safety. PIs: Lianne Lefsrud & Joel Gehman.
  • Centre for Teaching and Learning (CTL) Blended Learning Award – ENGG404: Engineering Safety and Risk Management – Leadership in Risk Management, $22,000. PIs: John Cocchio and Lianne Lefsrud.
  • Centre for Teaching and Learning (CTL) Summer Student Employment Award, $7,000, PI: Lianne Lefsrud, co-PI: John Cocchio.


  • Research Grant, Creating a Basis for Genuine Dialogue: Developing a Science-Based Understanding of Public/Industry Communication, Alberta Chamber of Resources, $35,000. PIs: Lianne Lefsrud and Chris Westbury.
  • NSERC Engage Grant, Using first- and second-order lexical co-occurrence to assess temporal changes in media valence and content, $25,000. PI: Chris Westbury, collaborator: Lianne Lefsrud.

2013 - 2017

  • Most read paper, Organization Studies (FT45 journal), every month February 2013 – present (except in February 2015, #2 to a paper on Game Theory by Greece’s finance minister)

2013 - 2015

  • Dow Sustainability Research Fellowship and Erb Research Fellowship, $175,000
  • Best Paper Award, European Group of Organizational Studies, 2000 €
  • Best Practice Paper 2013, Academy of Management ONE Division & Network for Business Sustainability (NBS), finalist
  • TEDx speaker
  • SSHRC Partnership Development Grant, Engendering Engineering Success, $194,000, collaborator


  • Best International Paper, Organization and Management Theory (OMT) Division, Academy of Management, finalist
  • Dissertation Award, Kule Institute for Advanced Studies (KIAS), $7,000


  • Best Reviewer, Social Issues in Management (SIM) Division, Academy of Management

2011 - 2009

  • Izaak Walton Killam Scholarship, Killam Trust, National level scholarship, $54,000
  • Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRCC) Doctoral Fellowship, $40,000
  • President’s Doctoral Prize of Distinction, University of Alberta, $20,000


  • Research Grant, Energy and Environment Solutions, Alberta Innovates, $46,000


  • Doctoral Exchange Program Fellowship, $25,000
  • Persons Case Scholarship, Province of Alberta, $5,000


  • Engineers Canada TD Insurance Meloche Monnex National Scholarship, $7,500
  • Alice E. Wilson Award, Canadian Federation of University Women, $6,000
  • Provost Doctoral Awards, University of Alberta, $4,400
  • Queen Elizabeth II Scholarship (Doctoral), Province of Alberta, $15,000